Chiarina Loggia

A printmaker's progress

Castlerigg – Stone Circle

4 Comments

Castlerigg0110

Castlerigg Stone Circle

This past summer I travelled to England for the first time. While visions of scones, moors and Big Ben ran through my head, it was its neolithis stone circles which I was most eager to experience. They did not disappoint.

Pictured here and below is Castlerigg, one of England’s lesser known but most complete circles, in one of the most dramatic settings. Standing on a hill and surrounded by mountains in Keswick, Cumbria, near the Lake District, it is an awe inspiring sight. Dating from around 3000BC, little is known of its history, adding to the mystery and allure. It does have a solar allignment and so was most likely used in solstice rituals. It is easy to feel the weight of the past when standing amongst the stones, but mostly I felt sadness at the loss of knowledge of the civilization that built the circle.

But contemplating the past there was at times a difficult exercise, as people came by the carloads and inevitably used the stones for standing on, jumping off and taking selfies in front of. The picture below demonstrates the challenge in trying to capture the circle with the desired for reverance.

Castlerigg0109

Castlerigg playground

A full view of the circle was unattainable without people that day but these two came close.

Castlerigg0102Castlerigg0113

As you can see from the pics, the sun was reluctant to show itself that day, as was the case for much of our visit. But it did make for atmospheric photos.

The final picture below shows the entire circle in a moment of late afternoon light.

IMG_2665-2

 

More of my images of Castlerigg can be seen here.

Stay tuned for images of that other stone circle in an upcoming post!

 

 

 

 

Author: chiaink

World travelled yet never weary, eloquent and evocative, Chiarina's artworks sing with a sensitive and sensuous spirit.

4 thoughts on “Castlerigg – Stone Circle

  1. Glad you were able to capture both– fascinating contradictions although the stones without the folk speaks to me more–then again, if I had been there, I too would have wanted a shot of me next to the stones.

    • Thanks for the comment and glad you liked the pics! The biggest challenge for me was trying to remember that everyone is there to enjoy the stones in their own way, and my picture taking shouldn’t take precedence. It was an exercise in patience to be sure. 🙂

  2. Love this, Chia. The photos gave me goosebumps…as did your description of feeling the weight of the past, reminding me of my visits to England and her amazing ancient sites. Thank you. xxo

    • Thanks Chloe. Did you happen to visit this stone circle by some chance? My trip just left me wanting to see and experience more of this fascinating country where I felt the weight of history everywhere. We live on such a young continent! (At least as far as western civilization goes)

What do you think?

