Chiarina Loggia

A printmaker's progress

Music Mondays – Be The One

Leave a comment

Moby has for a long time been one of my favorite artists. His music has a haunting, often sad quality that I find helps me enter into “the zone” when I am working on my artwork. This song, Be The One, is particularly dark and intense, and the video, edited from a group of self shot clips while travelling, takes the art of the selfie to a whole new level.

The lyrics (see below) are four simple lines repeated throughout the song, creating a hypnotic chant that, combined with Moby’s intense and brooding stare and the intensifying music, draw you into his soul. The song is distressing and disconcerting, with a sense of heartache that is all too readily recognizable.

Be The One

I’ll never see what you wanted… love
I was the hell that you needed… oh
I was the one when you needed love
I was the one when you needed love

Please share your reactions to this song, and if you have any favorite Moby songs of your own.

What music helps you get into your zone?

Author: chiaink

World travelled yet never weary, eloquent and evocative, Chiarina's artworks sing with a sensitive and sensuous spirit.

What do you think?

