Chiarina Loggia

A printmaker's progress

Tuesday Tales – Homecoming

4 Comments

Coming Home, 2

Coming Home, 2

Returning home after an extended holiday abroad always leaves me with a somewhat disconnected and discomfitted feeling. Apart from the jetlag and often the climate change, the readjustment to the quotidian can be difficult. While there is comfort in things old and familiar, there is no longer the excitement of new discoveries and experiences. More than that, there is no longer a strong sense of making the most of every day, of capturing memories and living in pursuit of pleasure. There is an invariable feeling of sadness and loss that accompanies that realization.

But there is an even larger shift. Meeting new people is replaced by the return to friends and family. And that is when the strongest readjustment happens. For I am no longer who I was before I went away. My experience has changed me in subtle ways I myself am slow to realize. My horizons have expanded while my sense of place has diminished, for I find myself filled with the discovery of distance realities while trying to reacquaint myself with the familiar. And the people at home have changed too, for they have adjusted to living without me for a time.

Strangest of all is the shift in my routine with my travelling partner. Our adventure together has ended and we are once again returning to the exigencies of our daily lives, together but settling back at our own pace into our own new rhythms.

Yet while I get on with the business of my days, and adjust to the change and unrest my experience abroad has brought into my life, I also appreciate the good fortune of being able to travel. And I acknowledge that change is a good thing, for I realize that it has enriched my life in ways I will be discovering for a long time.

I’ve just returned from Middle Earth (or New Zealand as some call it), so I will end with this quote from a little hobbit you may be familiar with. “It’s a dangerous business…going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.” J.R.R.Tolkien

Coming Home, 2 is a 5″x7″ photo etching on 10″x11″ paper. It is an image of a very lovely place I stayed in while travelling through France two years ago. I like how the sunlight appears to welcome the weary traveller, shining its light on the road that leads to home.

It is offered this week at $70, unframed. Please contact me at chiarina@chiarina.com to purchase or for further info.

What about you, dear reader? Do you have any homecoming experience or insight you would like to share?

Author: chiaink

World travelled yet never weary, eloquent and evocative, Chiarina's artworks sing with a sensitive and sensuous spirit.

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales – Homecoming

  1. “For I am no longer who I was before I went away. My experience has changed me in subtle ways I myself am slow to realize. My horizons have expanded while my sense of place has diminished”
    I go through the same emotions. It at times feels like visiting your past, a phase that is long gone and you find it difficult to relate to it because you moved have on, not just to a new chapter but to a different exciting book.

    • Thank you Baldeep, I like your take on it. Interestingly this time I actually did travel back to the past, arriving 6 hours before I left because of the different time zones!

  2. Chia, I have been ruminating about this articulate and insightful post off and on for the past many days. When I returned here just now, I was going to quote the exact passage which Baldeep has already reiterated above, as it encapsulates so well much of my experience. I find reentry, especially after being at the sea, to be especially uncomfortable. As if I am wearing a new skin, perhaps invisible to others, at least on a conscious level, but inescapable to me. Thank you for your honesty and sensitivity. xo

    • Thank you Chloe for giving this some thought. I love how you’ve expressed the feeling of strangeness, like wearing a new skin that is not so visible, one we wear on the inside. The good thing I find is, like a tan, it does wear off and the new skin underneath (or above as the case may be) grows with the new awareness embedded in it. xo

What do you think?

