Chiarina Loggia

A printmaker's progress

Tuesday Tales – The Art of The Selfie, Part Two

7 Comments

Fore And Aft, side a

Fore And Aft, side a

Fore And Aft, side b

Fore And Aft, side b

This artist book includes two selfies that I shot myself using a timer. The images are repeated several times in different color schemes, and the book is folded in such a way that when it lies flat three of the images are seen together as one, as shown below.

Fore And Aft

Fore And Aft

Fore And Aft

Fore And Aft

The concept for the piece began with the idea of a folded book that would allow partial views of the images when closed or seen from certain angles. I then thought it might be interesting to have the images repeat, with variations in mood and presentation. This is something I like to do with my prints, to explore many possible presentations and interpretations of one image. To do so in one piece would be an interesting challenge.

When I came upon the design I realized the book would have complementary fronts and backs and it was an obvious next step to show front and back profiles of a person. I chose these quite suggestive images as a presentation and affirmation of female sensuality and empowerment. I considered adding some poetry to the piece but I decided the blank spaces gave the imagery some breathing room and I preferred to allow the viewer to experience the images without the distraction of words. The title itself, is both obvious and subtly multilayered.

Of course I didn’t stop there. I created a new piece with the ghost imagery from the “fore” image, and added some imagery around it to create the piece below. This is probably the most daring selfie I have turned into artwork. It was a challenge, both to create and exhibit, and the artwork itself symbolizes that challenge to norms and acceptability that artists do and must put out to the world.

The Gauntlet

The Gauntlet

Fore And Aft, an 8″  by 22″  artist book on a 24″ juniper base by Detlef Grundmann, is offered this week at $550.
The Guantlet, an 8″x10″ monoprint on 15″x22′ paper, is offered this week at $200.

What challenges do you face most frequently in creating your art? And how do you work through them?

Do you think an investment of self is necessary in creating art that resonates?

Do you think an artist’s role is to challenge societal norms and ideas?  If so, how do you do it in your artistic practises?

Author: chiaink

World travelled yet never weary, eloquent and evocative, Chiarina's artworks sing with a sensitive and sensuous spirit.

7 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales – The Art of The Selfie, Part Two

  1. Absolutely, I believe that investing oneself deeply in creating something of beauty and meaning is the essence of art. I’ll have to ruminate about your other questions. Thank you for the thought-provoking post, Chia. Xo

  2. Wonderful~ D;)) love it.

  3. Sometimes Chiarina when I am puzzling something through I am undecided in whether to step forward with my brush on a canvas or keep mentally working the challenge. Usually the brush wins and I paint my way out the to the other side of the issue. And yes do do believe we need to bring ourselves to our work or there is no point.

    • Yes I also find that after a lot of initial thought and planning I usually like to let go and see where my hands and eyes take me. And I usually like where they lead.

  4. preconceived
    notions
    ~
    sometimes
    exploration wipes away
    original intent
    ~
    occasionally
    finding answers
    through
    happy accidents

What do you think?

