Chiarina Loggia

A printmaker's progress

Winter Solstice – Lighting the Way

4 Comments

Sandcut Sunset

Sandcut Sunset

              For the earth turns
While the dark night sings to the dawn

                          Too long December

Today is the winter solstice. It marks the day when the earth tilt begins to bring it closer to the sun, starting the lengthening of our daylight hours once again. As we move out of the darkness our spirits lift with the brighter days. For many this is a solemn moment in the year to be celebrated. It is no coincidence that Christmas falls around the winter solstice, for Jesus is worshipped for bringing light and hope to a troubled world. While I am not a religious person I do embrace spirituality, for I feel it is our path to an enlightened life. And I do believe that the light is there within us, wanting to be brought forth.

A few years ago I wrote a post around the winter solstice. It was a difficult piece to write, and when I reread it, it still brings tears to my eyes. Whenever the winter solstice comes around I am reminded of it, of how it resonated with so many, but also of the charge I laid on myself then to live life fully and true to myself. I think I am about waist deep in the sea now.

Author: chiaink

World travelled yet never weary, eloquent and evocative, Chiarina's artworks sing with a sensitive and sensuous spirit.

4 thoughts on “Winter Solstice – Lighting the Way

  1. Thank you for the radiant, beautiful post, Chia. I went back and reread the poignant, but also determined and insightful piece, from a few years ago. How inspiring that the gift you chose to take from the loss of your father has been a reclaiming and striding into the sea of your own authentic life–one full of beauty, openheartedness and generosity. A life of heart. See you in the sea :). xoxo

  2. Pingback: 6. The Guidance of the Spirit | Church of the Americas Foundation

What do you think?

