Chiarina Loggia

A printmaker's progress

Photo Fridays – For My Mother

6 Comments

Esterina

Esterina

Last January was my mother’s 75th birthday and so I decided to make a trip out East to visit her then instead of my usual summer visit. The snowstorm that greeted me and remained my constant companion throughout my trip reminded me why I never visit that time of year. But being there for this milestone was important to me.

I wanted to give my mother something special for this birthday but finding the right gift was not easy. My mother is exceedingly difficult to find presents for and her appreciation and understanding of my art is not always strong. But I was involved in a cultural exhibition at the time and I had to choose a theme for my own culture. I decided to focus on my own family and our emigration to Canada. While researching the subject matter for this one piece I came across this photo of my mother. It was taken when she was very young and still unmarried (sometime before 17) and while she was still in Italy. I fell in love with the softness and innocence of her expression. I decided to make a print of the photo ( see below) and give it to her for her birthday. I am happy to say that she was thrilled with it, immediately hanging it up on her wall. The warmth of her reception made it worth braving the cold days of my visit. (And I bought a splendid new coat to boot!)

Esterina

Esterina

Happy Mother’s Day to all mothers out there!

Author: chiaink

World travelled yet never weary, eloquent and evocative, Chiarina's artworks sing with a sensitive and sensuous spirit.

6 thoughts on “Photo Fridays – For My Mother

  1. So beautiful–your mother, the photo, the print you made. She must have been thrilled with such a rich and luminous tribute, Chia. I love the richness of the browns and the reds. You really do create such loveliness. Happy Mother’s Day to you! xoxo p.s. Glad to hear you got a gorgeous coat out of the trip :).

  2. Lovely what you did with this image Chairina and an equally inspiring story for Mother’s Day weekend.

  3. Wonderful story and idea and the result so perfect! Ciao for now

What do you think?

