Chiarina Loggia

A printmaker's progress

Tuesday Tales – When Moms Fly

6 Comments

Rain Dance

Rain Dance, detail

Today’s post is a guest post, written by my daughter while I’m up in the air off on an adventure. I’ve chosen this piece for her to write about in honour of Mother’s Day which is fast approaching. I thank her and look forward to reading what she has to say!

Daniela here.  Of course, I am publishing my Mother’s Day tribute post a day late, so this week I have a Wednesday Tale to offer.    I usually make my mom pancakes for Mother’s Day, but this year she will have to endure the unsalted bread she has condemned herself to while on vacation.  Some of the ingredients she will enjoy would undoubtedly make me cringe (porcini, nero di seppie), but for the most part, I am jealous of all the food she will have access to.  My approach to food, along with many other habits, has undeniably been influenced by my mother.  Today’s piece, Rain Dance, makes me think of how much I am like my mother, how much more I notice all the ways that I have inherited her.  The way that the son and mother in Rain Dance mimic each other’s stances, the way their right feet are both crossed and their heads both face down, reminds me how much I have learned to copy from my own mother.  The way I sniff, sigh in annoyance, hate packaged soup stock, or love science fiction, for example, are all borrowed from her.  These preferences and habits that have defined me among my friends are also what connect me to my mother.  I will realize that a quirk I have which I thought made me unique is really just a second-hand habit, a tribute.  I will realize that I am inescapably becoming my mother, but sometimes, she also becomes me.  Our shared appreciation of Linkin Park (many, many years ago) is proof of that and is something I think we both try to forget.

So Happy Mother’s Day, Mama, I told everybody that you like Linkin Park.

 

Rain Dance, an 11″x14″ mixed media monotype, is offered this week at $250 unframed, or $300 framed.

Author: chiaink

World travelled yet never weary, eloquent and evocative, Chiarina's artworks sing with a sensitive and sensuous spirit.

6 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales – When Moms Fly

  1. What a lovely image and a wonderfully written tribute! Thankyou to both of you.

  2. Nice Dani – and thanks for outing your mother on her Linkin Park obsession!

  3. That unsalted bread is delicious Tuscan, unsalted because of its pairing with very flavourful foods like boar sausage! But I remember you not liking it when we visited Tuscany together. I will think of you now when I eat it and think of this lovely tribute too. Thank you, sweetheart. I think we’ve learned some fabulous things from each other, including the love of certain music, and I look forward to all the things we’ll continue to learn and share in future! Xo

  4. Hi Dani, from Bob and Margie. You also share your Mom’s artists eye for beauty in the world around you. And your palette is the written word. Beautiful. Write often. Write lots. Hugs from Metchosin

What do you think?

