Chiarina Loggia

A printmaker's progress

Tuesday Tales – Hold Me

9 Comments

Hold Me

Hold Me

                                                                                                                                    Untouched I tremble 

                                                                                                                         In this solitary dance

                                                                                                                                          The music plays on

There is much I can say about this piece, the choice of colors, the significance of the pose, who the model is. Instead I have chosen to use this haiku to describe it. I love haiku. Short, evocative and enigmatic, they can leave a powerful impression and set your mind and heart racing. I hope this combination of words and imagery moves you as it does me.

Hold Me, an 8″x12″ photopolymer gravure etching, is offered this week at $250, unframed.

Author: chiaink

World travelled yet never weary, eloquent and evocative, Chiarina's artworks sing with a sensitive and sensuous spirit.

9 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales – Hold Me

  1. Oh, I LOVE all of this–beautiful print, haiku, title, dance theme :)! Thanks for moving me with all of that vulnerability, tenderness, exquisiteness. Xo

  2. Love this! The fusion of words and images creates magic!

  3. Very surreal and enigmatic accompanied with an apt haiku!

  4. A nice and ideal balance between the image and what you have written about it. The way you presented her hand , attracted me in this image. It is only me maybe but i feel sadness in this image . somehow like “Life goes on even without me , but i forgot to life into it “. But that is only my interpretation of it . The image and its technique is your style , you know that already i assume , it suits you the best . However I wanna see her eyes , maybe that made it attractive to , not to see her eyes. i dont know , but that I missed . I like you work as present also in this image.

    • Thank you so much, Bart. I agree that there is a certain sadness and aloneness portrayed in this image. The woman is hugging herself, perhaps because there is no one else to do so? This is another case of the poem coming first, just waiting for the right image to compliment it.

What do you think?

