Chiarina Loggia

A printmaker's progress

Tuesday Tales – Wishing and Hoping and Dreaming

6 Comments

Morning View

Morning View

It was well past morning on that warm September day in Châteauneuf-en-Auxois. We had taken hundreds of photos in and around the picturesque village and the impressive chateau high on its hilltop. But as we sat down to a late lunch by a cosy window I knew I had to take a few more. The window’s lovely stone arch and the delightful view beyond were captivating enough but the little clay figure looking out wistfully tugged at my heart. It spoke to me of longing and dreaming. I thought of how it awoke every morning to that alluring village view, watching the people stroll by and real cats race past, all the while stuck on that window ledge, unable to move. I thought of how we often find ourselves in similar situations, seeing life’s brilliant possibilities and wishing for something more but not quite knowing how to get unstuck from our present circumstance. I thought of the enormous effort and courage it can take to bring about change, and of the true possibility of falling down and being broken in the attempt. I imagined this happening to the little figurine, of getting knocked over and being shattered into little pieces. But as the light shone into the broken fragments, there would occur a transformation into a winged thing that would then fly out into that enchanting world beyond the glass. And I smiled, for we were the same, that figurine and I.

Morning View is a 5”x7” photopolymer gravure etching, offered this week for $90 unframed, $110 framed.  It was one of four pieces entered in the Portals Show at Coast Collective.

You can see more images of Chateauneuf-En-Auxois here.

Author: chiaink

World travelled yet never weary, eloquent and evocative, Chiarina's artworks sing with a sensitive and sensuous spirit.

6 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales – Wishing and Hoping and Dreaming

  1. The picture is amazing in and of itself, but your beautiful interpretation is pure magic. We are all that little figurine at one time or another. Thanks for another great share!

  2. This post brought tears to my eyes. Brilliant. Your visual and verbal imagery are poignant and beautiful. You made me realize, once again, a main reason why I dance and why I must dance-to practice MOVING. So agonizing sometimes, but essential, non? Your work is inspired. Thank you.

  3. I am so moved and hunbled by your comments, thank you.

  4. While there are a number of your works that I do really like and find to be inspiring, there is something else about this one. So much life and magic in this ‘morning view’ —feels like you can actually open the window and wander inside.

    Cheers!

    • Thank you Feidor, I am very glad you like it so much. This particular etching has found a good home, but I would be happy to make you another if you should desire it, though the colors would not be an exact match. Cheers to you!

What do you think?

