Chiarina Loggia

A printmaker's progress

Tuesday Tales – January Brings The Snow

2 Comments

Winter Warmth

Winter Warmth

Every year when January rolls around I am reminded of The Months by Sara Coleridge which begins with “January brings the snow, makes our feet and fingers glow”.  I used to read a beautifully illustrated book of this poem for my son and daughter when they were little. Each month showed a brother and sister duo engaged in seasonal play and in the right hand bottom corner was a flap you could lift up to see a mouse family doing their own seasonal activities, often with tiny discarded bits of stuff ‘borrowed’ from the chidren’s home. The first line of the poem has stuck with me and it always brings back fond memories of those delightful times spent together reading and enjoying the illustrations.

January often brings the first of few snowfalls here in Victoria, though we have yet to be graced with its white blanket this year. When we are visited with an often short-lived snowfall I usually race outside with my camera to capture its fleeting beauty, as I did here.  That same January I spent some time in Prince George, where the snow was plentiful and my feet and fingers certainly had their fair share of glowing in the biting cold. I braved the bitter cold to shoot some of that city’s stark scenery and iconic sites, such as the CNR bridge, but my favorite images from that day were two that were more evocative of the season than of place. I made the prints illustrated here from those images. The one above is titled Winter Warmth and the one below, Winter Walk. I have inked the plates for these prints in various ways and colors but I find the warm sepia tones of these prints to be most effective in capturing a sense of time and memory. When I look at them I am certainly filled with fond memories of that visit, and they bring a smile to my face.

Winter Walk

Winter Walk

Winter Warmth and Winter Walk are both 3 1/2″ x 5″ photopolymer gravure  etchings and are offered this week as a pair for $100 unframed or $130 framed.

Author: chiaink

World travelled yet never weary, eloquent and evocative, Chiarina's artworks sing with a sensitive and sensuous spirit.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales – January Brings The Snow

  1. I so appreciate the depth and sensitivity of your spirit and your work–language, visual art and psyche, all. Brava.

  2. You are very kind. I’m very happy my work has connected so strongly with you. Responses like yours motivate me to keep doing and sharing the work and always trying to improve on it. Cheers!

What do you think?

