Chiarina Loggia

A printmaker's progress

I’m An Exhibitionist, Yes I Am!

13 Comments

Mirror, Mirror invitation

One of the great joys of working as an artist is being able to be my own boss. I set my own hours, choose who I want to work with and what I want to do. For the most part what I choose to do is work to projects.

These projects invariably involve exhibiting my artwork so that I find myself working from exhibition to exhibition. I enjoy this for it helps me to focus on a body of work, allowing ideas and themes to develop and crystallize while challenging my ability to give the ideas form and life.

Oftentimes the themes build and grow from one show to the next, forming a progression of expression that is exciting and hopefully, helps me to develop my own unique voice.

My upcoming show, Mirror, Mirror, is such a progression, following up from my previous one, In Her Eyes. It continues the theme of personal journey through exploration of self as viewed through the mirror of others’ perceptions.

“Beauty is eternity gazing at itself in a mirror. But you are eternity and you are the mirror. “  Kahlil Gibran                                                     

The mirror, as reflective surface projects back onto the subject, but only what is being revealed to it. What remains hidden often reveals as much as what is shown. We see ourselves in the eyes and hearts of others but only as much as we are willing and able to give of ourselves. The more we give of ourselves, the fuller we are perceived and the more fully we are able to understand and accept ourselves. At the same time, the clarity of the mirror determines how truthfully the image is reproduced. The more open the mind and heart of the person, the greater will be the reality that is reflected back to you.

“You use a glass mirror to see your face; you use works of art to see your soul.” George Bernard Shaw

As an artist my goal is to act as a mirror to our collective souls. This forces out the ‘exhibitionist’ in me in every sense of the word, a thrilling and daunting task. In the next few weeks I will be exhibiting my work in two shows.

First up is the Sooke Fine Arts Show, the annual juried, largest art show on Vancouver Island. I am thrilled and honoured to have had three pieces accepted into this show, one of which has garnered an Honorary Mention. The show takes place at the Sooke Leisure Park Arena and runs from July 24 to August 2, 2010. More info on the show can be found here: http://www.sookefinearts.com/

Those three works serve as a taste of the works in my own show, Mirror, Mirror, which opens the following Friday, July 30th, at 7pm at the Collective Works Gallery in Fernwood, Victoria and runs until August 12th, 2010. More info on the gallery can be found here: http://www.collectiveworks.ca/

I am very excited to present these artworks and welcome everyone to come and celebrate and ‘reflect on’ the show with me.

Author: chiaink

World travelled yet never weary, eloquent and evocative, Chiarina's artworks sing with a sensitive and sensuous spirit.

13 thoughts on “I’m An Exhibitionist, Yes I Am!

  1. Nicely written blog with an engaging invitation to see more of your work. Your continuing theme sounds fastinating. Looking forward to seeing your pieces in the Sooke Fine Arts Show and of course, at your Collective Works show. Wayne

  2. Thanks, Wayne! Will be fun to share with everyone. 🙂

  3. Well done once again !! It is inspiring to see and hear how you continue to persue your art with passion.
    We always look forward to the Sooke Fine Arts Show and now we have even more reasons to enjoy it. See you soon.
    BETTY

  4. Chi,

    You reveal more and more of who you really are through every show you produce. Ahhhhh….the life of an ARTIST!

    ❤ Jane

  5. Beautifully written Chi!! So happy I was able to make it to your show!…and what a fabulous show indeed!! Your art is so beautiful and very insightful! It makes me want to dance! 😉 Thankyou for sharing the wonderful magic of y☼u!! ღƪ(ˆ◡ˆ)ʃ

  6. Thank you for another thoughtful, insightful post. It reminds of dance class last week when the master teacher urged us to think about making ourselves be seen, and implicitly what we wanted to reveal to be seen. Different answer depending on the moment and all of its variables, no? Your work and shows sound wonderful–hope you were pleased. xo

  7. Pingback: Tuesday Tales – The Artist In The Mirror | Chiarina Loggia

  8. Pingback: Tuesday Tales – Reflections On Water | Chiarina Loggia

  9. Pingback: Chia Comics – My New Career? | Chiarina Loggia

What do you think?

